At Sarajevo Model UN 2018 there will be a simulation of working procedures of four councils. Scroll down to see which councils will be simulated, the rationale for establishing individual councils, and its scope of responsibilities. Please bear in mind that as of 2018, Sarajevo Model UN will have classifications of councils depending on previous Model UN experience. Please familiarize yourself with the council classifications below.


High school and university students with no previous Model UN experience are eligible to participate in this committee.



Participants whose prior participation in Model UN activities fall below 4 Model UN conferences will be eligible to participate in intermediate committee.


Only university students with a significant previous Model UN experience (at least, 4+ Model UN conferences) are eligible to participate in advanced committees.



United Nations Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It is composed of 15 members of which 5 of them are permanent (United States of America, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom). Under the UN Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends
methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to
imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace
and security. The Council has developed and refined the use of non-military measures including arms embargoes on travel and banks, and restrictions to guard against the exploitation of natural resources to fuel conflicts, as well as taking a lead role in the coordination of international counter-terrorism efforts. Visit the link below to find out more about the UNSC's work and adopted resolutions.

Topic A: "TBA"

Topic B: "TBA"



UN Women

UN Women is also known as The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women, was established in January 2011. It leads, coordinates and promotes the accountability of the United Nations system in its work on gender equality and women’s empowerment. The goal of UN Women is to support intergovernmental bodies in their formulation of policies, global standards and norms, help UN member states implement the above standards and enable member states to hold the UN system accountable for its own commitments on gender

Therefore, the UN Women is a UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. The main role of the UN Women is:

  • To support inter-governmental bodies, such as the Commission on the Status of Women, in their formulation of policies, global standards and norms.

  • To help Member States to implement these standards, standing ready to provide suitable technical and financial support to those countries that request it, and to forge effective partnerships with civil society.

  • To lead and coordinate the UN system’s work on gender equality as well as promote accountability, including through regular monitoring of system-wide progress.

For many years, the UN has faced serious challenges in its efforts to promote gender equality globally, including inadequate funding and no single recognized driver to direct UN activities on gender equality issues. UN Women was created to address such challenges. Grounded in the vision of equality enshrined in the UN Charter, UN Women, among other issues, works for the:

  • elimination of discrimination against women and girls;

  • empowerment of women; and

  • achievement of equality between women and men as partners and beneficiaries of development, human rights, humanitarian action and peace and security.

Topic A: "TBA"

Topic B: "TBA"



United Nations Sustainable Development Goals Summit (High Level Political Forum)


Topic A: "TBA"

Topic B: "TBA"



World Health Organization (WHO)

The World Health Assembly is the decision-making body of WHO. It is attended by delegations from all WHO Member States and focuses on a specific health agenda prepared by the Executive Board. The main functions of the World Health Assembly are to determine the policies of the Organization, appoint the Director-General, supervise financial policies, and review and approve the proposed program budget.

Topic: "TBA"